DAY TEN- Yamas of Yoga

Today I want to dedicate myself to the constant practice of the five Yamas in Yoga philosophy.

There are five Yamas in Yoga:

  1. Ahimsa (Non-violence)
  2. Satya (Truthfulness)
  3. Asteya (Non-stealing)
  4. Brahmacharya (Continence)
  5. Aparigraha (Non-coveting)

I can relate my individual situation in all these five rules. For one, overeating is wrong. It is me being greedy over for food that I don’t need for myself, I am taking what is not belong me. (Asteya & Aparigraha)

We eat because our body needs energy to function, to dedicate herself to her soul’s purpose and act accordingly, to work towards her goal, to do stuffs. These are the truths (Satya). I am not aligned with my purpose, therefore I eat more than I need to. I’m lost, I eat out of boredom, I didn’t understand what does hunger truly mean, I just ate to fulfill my cravings. Am I making sense or now I’m just bullshitting?

Overeating leads to fullness. Oftentimes the uncomfortable feeling that I experience after a huge meal is me committing violence to myself (Ahimsa). I now promise to practice Ahimsa, to not betray my body and put in excessive energy and make myself uncomfortable.

So, after all, WHAT’S THE POINT? Apart from the shallow reason that I want to look beautiful, there’s more to living by these morals. If I’m able to heal this, I can have it all. Just imagine if I utilize the time I use in binging and bloating and digesting to do something fun, such as hanging out with friends and make memories together, do constructive things that helps me to grow and get closer my goal and the life that I want, how empowering would that be!? I can’t even count how many times I’ve bailed on life because I was ashamed of my bloated face and terrible feeling from overeating. Heal this, I can have it all. 

Today, I want to focus on one particular Yama: Ahimsa, I will stop creating violence to myself.

Leave a Reply

