24 | citta vrtti

citta vrtti nirodha– restraint of the modifications of the mind. The science of Yoga comes down to this one single point: once you learn how to control the mind, nothing in this world can bind you.

Woke up at 2:30 in the morning and couldn’t fall back to sleep. Watched some YouTube and Netflix and snacked a little until 4:30, then I decided to work on my Yoga Sutras by Patanjali. I’m so glad that I picked up this book because what I’ve been experiencing lately resonates to what the book is talking about. It gives me guidance to peace and happiness. I’ve gone through the first five sutras.

  1. An introduction to the study of Yoga.
  2. Yoga is the restraint of modifications of the mind.
  3. Finding our authentic self.
  4. We are skewed to misconceptions without that.
  5. There are five different mental modifications.

What I’m taking away with me from those five sutras today is that we don’t see the world as it is, but as we are. It all comes down to our mind, our perceptions on things and people. Yoga practice is not just about asanas, practicing on controlling our thoughts and mind is actually more important.

Before I end this journal, I’d like to set a mantra for the day– Make change. 

 

Leave a Reply

